The mating Habits.jpeg

The Mating Habits of Stags

Ray Robinson

Published by Lightning Books

Midwinter. As former farmhand Jake, a widower in his seventies, wanders the beautiful austere moors of Yorkshire trying to evade capture, we learn of the events of his past: the wife he loved and lost, their child he knows cannot be his, and the deep-seated need for revenge that manifests itself in a moment of violence. On the coast, Jake’s friend, Shiela, receives the devastating news. The aftermath of Jake’s actions, and what it brings to the surface, will change her life forever. But how will she react when he turns up at the door? The Mating Habits of Stags is a journey through a life of guilt and things unsaid—and as beauty and tenderness blend with violence, Robinson transports us to a different worlds, subtly exploring love and loss in a language that both bruises and heals.

A stunning novel - Antonia Honeywell, Booktime Brunch

Born in North Yorkshire, Ray Robinson first won attention in 2006 with his debut novel, Electricity. It was shortlisted for both the James Tait Black Memorial Prize and the Authors’ Club Best First Novel Award. The screen adaptation premiered at the BFI London Film Festival and won Best Screenplay at the National Television Awards. His other novels are The Man Without, Forgetting Zoë and Jawbone Lake. Forgetting Zoë was a winner of the inaugural Jerwood Fiction Uncovered Prize. He wrote the multi-award winning short film Edith, starring Peter Mullan and Michelle Fairley, on which his fifth novel, The Mating Habits of Stags, is based.