Winning Prize: £10,000
Chair of Judges: Simon Savidge

Entry criteria

The Portico Prize is a celebration of northern literature. Publishers and self-published authors are invited to submit titles in any format across fiction, non-fiction and poetry. Books must be published between 1st January 2017 and 31st July 2019 in the UK. Authors may be based anywhere. Above all, The Portico Prize seeks to celebrate the best writing that evokes the spirit of the North of England.

The Prize

One prize of £10,000 will be awarded to the winning author. Shortlisted authors will be gifted with honourary membership of The Portico Library in 2020.


A longlist of fifteen titles will be chosen by The Society of Readers and Writers, a group of local literary enthusiasts appointed by The Portico Prize committee. From the longlist, a panel of five judges will identify a shortlist of six books from which they will finally select an overall winner. The Judges’ decision is final. The Judges have the right to withhold the prize and no correspondence will be entered into.

Key dates

31st July 2019         Submission deadline

30th September 2019   Long-list announcement

November 2019   Shortlist announcement

January 2020       Announcement of winner and award presentation