Skip to Content

The Portico Prize for Literature

text: The Portico Prize with architectural black and white portico

We are pleased to announce that we are now taking bookings for The Portico Prize Awards Dinner on Thursday 26 November 2015

Download the booking form here:

Past notifications:

The Portico Prize 2015 has now closed to entries. Thanks to all who have submitted their titles this year. The shortlist will be announced in September 2015.

Judging panels for fiction/poetry and non-fiction categories announced.

The Portico Prize for Literature 2015 has been generously supported by funding from The Zochonis Charitable Trust and Arts Council England.

The Portico Prize for Literature, established in 1985 by The Portico Library, celebrates the strong regional and literary identity of the North of England with the aim of raising awareness of the diversity of its cultural, literary and historical heritage. The Prize is awarded biennially to a work of fiction (including poetry) and a work of non-fiction.

text: The Zochonis Charitable Trust & Arts Council England